cookingshaenanigans

Trying to live and eat healthy

Oat Cookies April 24, 2012

Filed under: Snacks — Shae @ 1:04 pm
Tags: ,

So, Sleep and I have broken up again. Well, that’s not an entirely accurate statement. That implies that it was a mutual decision. It wasn’t. Sleep dumped me. Again. So, you can blame my lack of blogging on sleep. If I wasn’t so damn tired all the time, I would be able to post the day that I actually make my wonderful (or not so wonderful) kitchen creations. Lately it seems like I’m forcing three major kitchen adventures into a few hours, so it’s been a lot of cereal for dinner. Yay Cheerios.

Image

Oat Cookies

So, this day, before I embark on my adventures (or maybe I’ll take the “weekend” off totally), I figured that I’d actually sit down to post. I was actually inspired by looking up recipes for Italian Wedding Soup, since Ohio is currently experiencing this cold snap, despite the fact that the flowers are out, I’ve already gotten a bad sunburn, my tank tops have been unearthed, and I have the summer sheets on the bed from our SURPRISE! It’s 80 degrees in March stretch. So, soup makes me feel better. As does the nice lap warmer known as my kitty-girl Seneca.

Image

dry ingredients

So, when I first embarked on this journey of cutting out processed foods, I was most worried about breakfast. I mean, how could I be expected to survive without my english muffins, or my Panera bread, or toast, or pancakes or waffles? I mean, all the best parts of breakfast are processed. So I came across these Breakfast Cookies as she called them, I got excited. I’ve since modified the recipe and every time I make them, its a little different. I also never have them for breakfast. It’s more of an all-day snacking type of cookie, I’ve found.

Image

dough lumps

Oat Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 1/4 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/2 cup-1 cup dried fruit of your choice

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
In a medium bowl, mix together the flour, oats, baking soda, salt, sugar, and spices. Set aside.
In a larger bowl, mix together applesauce, maple syrup, butter, egg, and vanilla. When mixed, slowly add the dry ingredients and mix together. When sufficiently mixed, fold in nuts or fruit (or both).
Using a spoon, drop dough onto a greased cookie sheet. Bake for 10 minutes. Edges will start to brown. Cool on a rack then enjoy.

I’ve noticed that making the cookies smaller works best.

Now, I don’t like dried fruit, but my boyfriend does, so I’ve added raisins and I’ve added cranberries. He likes both. This last batch is the first time I’ve added the nutmeg and I’m not sure how I feel about it. Next time I may swap the applesauce with pumpkin and see how it turns out. These cookies are just so versatile.

Image

The finished product!

I also need to figure out why wordpress keeps putting all my pictures on their sides. It’s rather frustrating.

 

Leave a Reply

